Carrots Braised in Butter (Carottes Etuvees Au Beurre)

Pureed Carrots Braised in Butter

Pureed Carrots Braised in Butter

I love this recipe because it is insanely simple and your friends will think it is exceptionally gourmet. I can’t find any references at the moment; however, I’ve read in a number of places that working orange produce into your daily diet is extremely good for your health. Additionally, carrots keep really well in the fridge, and you should have everything else you need for this recipe in your kitchen so it is an easy way to cook a veggie for dinner on the fly.

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 30 to 40 minutes
Total time: 35 to 45 minutes

Personally I like to do this recipe as pureed carrots; however, the carrots are equally delicious if you don’t puree them, particularly when paired with braised meats. It is amazing how easy it is to eat the equivalent of 4 or 5 large carrots without even noticing it using this recipe. Just about everything about carrots is good for you, and since we are using ghee in place of butter, this dish is entirely slow carb (as long as you don’t use Julia’s sugar).

Gear

  1. Heavy-bottomed saucepan – I have been using the Cuisinart Chef’s Classic 1-1/2-Quart Saucepan for about 9 months and I have been extremely please with it. It is great for recipes like this, and most importantly it is a great tool for making sauces.
  2. Chef knife – Any knife will do because all you have to do is cut the ends off carrots.
  3. Vegetable brush – I use the OXO Good Grips Flexible Vegetable Brush to clean my carrots. Julia recommends that you peel the carrots; however, Tim pointed out in The 4-Hour Chef that a thorough brushing does the same thing. I agree with Tim that I don’t notice a difference between brushing and peeling, and the brush doesn’t create as much of a mess.
  4. Cutting board – Any cutting board will do.
  5. Immersion blender (optional) – This kitchen toy is only necessary if you want to puree the carrots. The whole carrots are delicious on their own; however, pureeing everything together at the end of the cooking process enhances the flavor. I wouldn’t recommend buying an immersion blender just for this recipe; however, it is one of my favorite new kitchen toys. I use the Breville Control Grip Immersion Blender that Tim recommends in Four Hour Chef. I hesitated because of the $100 price tag; however, I have quickly found this to be one of my favorite kitchen tools. I don’t have to skip over recipes that require a food processor anymore :)
Carrots Braised in Butter Gear

Carrots Braised in Butter Gear

Ingredients

  1. 1 1/2 lbs of carrots – You can adjust the recipe based on how many carrots you are using. The measurements in this recipe are very forgiving.
  2. 1 tablespoon sugar – I learned this recipe from Julia Child. Julia told me that the sugar is to help develop flavor. Personally, I use less sugar than Julia recommends. I’ve found a small dash of sugar works well for my palate. If you want to go completely slow carb, you can omit the sugar altogether. The recipe still tastes great! I considered leaving this ingredient out (I often do when cooking carrots); however, I was worried Julia would find out. She swears like a sailor when she is angry.
  3. 1 1/2 cups of water – Clear liquid that comes out of the kitchen sink.
  4. 1 1/2 tablespoons of ghee (clarified butter) – Julia calls for regular butter here; however, I’ve tried this recipe with regular butter and ghee and I haven’t noticed any difference.
  5. 1/2 teaspoon of salt – I use kosher salt while cooking and coarse sea salt to finish the dish.
  6. A few turns of pepper – A little pepper when plating goes a long way.
Carrots Braised in Butter Ingredients

Carrots Braised in Butter Ingredients

Prep

  1. Cut carrots into quarters – Yep, that is all the prep for this one!

Pickup

  1. Bring carrots mixed with sugar, water, butter, and salt to a boil – Put all of these things in your saucepan over high heat until it comes to a boil.
  2. Reduce heat and cover – Once the carrots have come to a boil, reduce the heat so the liquid gently simmers. I usually have to reduce the heat to a notch just above low to obtain the desired simmer.
  3. Cook for approximately 30 to 40 minutes – You want to cook the carrots until they are tender and a good portion of the  liquid has evaporated.
  4. Correct the seasoning – I’ve found that adding a sprinkle of coarse sea salt and a few turns of pepper after plating does the trick.
Bring Carrots to a Boil

Bring Carrots to a Boil

Covering Carrots

Covering Carrots

Carrots After 30 to 40 Minutes

Carrots After 30 to 40 Minutes

Pureeing Carrots with Immersion Blender

Pureeing Carrots with Immersion Blender

Carrots Braised in Butter

Carrots Braised in Butter

Trackbacks

  1. […] Carrots Braised in Butter (Carottes Etuvees Au Beurre) (slowcarbdietcookbook.com) […]

  2. […] bone. Return the meat to the pot to heat it through. I have found that I like to serve oxtail over carrots braised in butter. It is a  healthy way to get that starch you crave with heavy meat dishes like […]

Leave a comment